SUNDOWN plays a selection of country classics and contemporary country-rock songs with a genuine "country feel" and a respect for the original musical arrangements.

The band features:

JOE McGOVERN on pedal steel and guitar. Joe has played country music for more than 30 years - on pedal steel with bands such as Nashville and Carole Sturtzel & Wild Oats, and on bass with Trev & Dennis.

KATHLEEN EVERSON on lead vocals and rhythm guitar. Kathleen has been playing country music for eight years. Since 2000, she has competed in various sections of the Port Pirie Country Music Festival, taking out a first prize for comedy (with her daughter Sarah), and runner-up awards for female vocal, gospel and duet (with Julie Noble as Sisters in Country).

DUNCAN HAYNES on lead guitar. Duncan has an extensive career playing in country bands. He was a member of Mal Rice & the Raiders and Both Barrels, and had an 18-month stint with Carol Sturtzel & Wild Oats in the early 1990s, when that band featured Carol’s daughter Beccy Cole. Duncan also plays in Adelaide rock’n’roll band The Cheatin’ Hearts, and has experience playing many other idioms including rhythm & blues, jazz, soul, gospel, funk and swing.

DOUG PETHERICK on bass and vocals. Doug teaches music at the Centre for Aboriginal Studies in Music (Adelaide University). He has taught and played music for over 30 years, contributing to more than 30 albums as a session musician. Doug is remembered for a stint on TV in the 1980s, as a presenter of Channel 9's "Here's Humphrey".

NICK CARROLL on drums and vocals. Nick has played the drums, on and off, since his teens, most recently in the bands Trinity Blue, The Chaps and Key Country.

Sundown made its debut at the Old Bush Inn (Willunga) in December 2002. Among other engagements, the band has played for the Southern Country Music Club, Railroad Country Music Club, Gawler Country Music Club and the City of Charles Sturt's "Summer in the Square" program at Henley Square.

CONTACT: Kathleen Everson on 08 8322 1986 or 0407 708 417.

Sundown Nick Carroll, Duncan Haynes, Kathleen Everson, Joe McGovern and Doug Petherick.
(Picture by I Fisk Jan 2006)